The Taste Of What You Grilled In Me

You Get What You Give

Life is Amazing with Books and Writers
The Black Veil
2 min readDec 16, 2022

--

Burning pieces of wood on the bank of a lake or river representing the burning heart of emotional abuse.
Photo by Daiga Ellaby on Unsplash

You ranted the whole life, to prove me a sinister or bad omen
The way you enjoyed the tears, those words cooked out,
That one day by chance if you could have tasted them,
You would have gone sinister for life from the bitter soup.

If you had for once tried to put a leash on your tongue
Then I would have let bygones be bygones
But, the way relentless darts you threw at my esteem
That, any day if you had tried to soften up even a bit
I could have made mince meat of you with the same darts.

Your casual stance that, ‘Hearts are meant to break’,
Made my heart grill and char to such an extent
That one day if you could just touch it, then
In a moment, you would have burned to Kebab.

The way you made me dance like a puppet
For every word I said, the way you baked me in humiliation
That someday if you had come to watch the show of me roasting
I could have turned every essence of you into popcorn.

This poem is for those who inflict pain and emotional abuse but do not know the flavor and feel of the product they leave behind. If only they could be made to taste the food of what they gave.

The piece is in response to an interestingly dark prompt initiated by Ravyne Hawke. Click here if you too want to share your darkness coated on words.

Lucy Dan 蛋小姐 (she/her/她) Ginger Bangs Sasha Silk Monoreena Acharjee Majumdar Noorain Ali Ann Christine Tabaka Shagufta Amy Sarah King Mpdoc Hayden Moore Kartik Vishwanathan Ghina Zaidi Suma Narayan Vidya Sury, Collecting Smiles Christina

--

--

Life is Amazing with Books and Writers
The Black Veil

Mother, Professor, book worm, poetess, writer of emotions and hushed facts, aspiring fiction writer and a learner till the last breath….