What’s that on your neck?

A Deep Dive

Peter Tran Mead
The Black Veil
Mar 14, 2023

--

Photo by Rinke Dohmen on Unsplash

All lined up at the pool edge. Dive he says!

Water wrecks my band-aided neck. A bulbous mark meets the 100-meter.

Arm pushes pressured waves, chest twists, lips prune in pool air

Chlorine stings the rash, crackled skin cracking further.

Gangly legs shift gear. I gulp, go under.

A hole in my neck, like a mouth widening, warping

Greasy ooze exits out. Something wriggles.

Gasp! Doggy-paddling in place. Get out. Go!

A multi-armed mass clambering out, no smaller than a squirrel.

Grip and grab air. Concrete edge so near.

A frog squeezes, stretches the sides, pus flooding out

Another stranger squirming. More. Flesh-pipe clogged, dark and bright liquid bursting between beings.

I’m out, gagging, gasping. Groveling on solid ground.

Hand to neck. Smooth skin. Nothing there.

I take a breath.

--

--