Why Colour My Greying Hair?

Disclaimer: You may not like it

--

I do not need to colour my hair
Coz, they’re greying to grow white
And white is good.
So I should bleach my skin to white.
Right?

Mom always said
Black’s for evil
Does that mean
Black hair is bad?
But, then was I evil
When my hair was black?
Coz then Platinum hair
Can be common
To both whites and blacks.
So you see, I do not
Colour my greying hair.

If my hair grows from grey to white
Is it good, Coz whites are superior?
But, Blacks inherited, melanin-skin
Of their first Mother — Eve.
Isn’t it?
Beware, we are not supposed
To inherit any dark skin
Or else, ones who could not
Inherit melanin from Eve
Claim the inheritance of
The entire humanity.
So you see, I should not
Colour my greying hair.

The story of history
Hence proves that
Cain could not inherit melanin
And his heart turned black
With envy for melanin of Abel.
The progeny of shunned Cain
Then had no escape
From inherited albino-white skin.
And darkened hearts.
Right?
So, could only resort to claim
Superiority of melanin-less skin.
While the brown progeny of Eve
Were labelled inferior blacks.
So you see, I need not
Colour my greying hair.

Is that why the whites of the world
Test their weapons on the Blacks?
But we are brown rather than black
Right?
But, they feign Whites are good,
Though they have killed more
And have waged wars and
Encroached every nook an’ cranny
Across the globe than blacks/browns.
To bring lightness into darkness.
So you see, I prefer not to
Colour my greying hair.

I have brown skin and black hair
But They have melanin-less skin,
Pale that burns to ape-ly-red
Under the golden sun.
So they claim superiority
And make ones with melanin
Work under both sun, moon
And in dark tunnels or bowels.
I should bleach my skin to golden.
Right?
But, they have golden or brown hair,
Which too turns grey like
Inferior browns or blacks.
And they loathe the kinship.
Coz, brotherhood can only
Claim conversion to Bible
But, someone has to be
The slave, the punching bag
The antithesis of arrogance.

So you see, I must not
Colour my greying hair.

The germ of this poem was catalysed by another poet, Lucy Dan 蛋小姐 (she/her/她), as shared below.

The scales of black and white have always been imbalanced since recorded history started. I wonder what the readers feel while reading my perspective of black and white. Would be glad to know, so do share your thoughts.

Marcus aka Gregory Maidman Dr Mehmet Yildiz (Main) Suma Narayan Aalisha Pawar James Davis Vinanti Sarkar ... VoicesofWomenWorldwide Amit Tiwari Risha Khan Ameen Shaik

--

--

Life is Amazing with Books and Writers
The Black Veil

Mother, Professor, book worm, poetess, writer of emotions and hushed facts, aspiring fiction writer and a learner till the last breath….