Faith’s Favorites—February

faith anderson
The Blak Lotus
3 min readMar 7, 2022

--

Image by Lum3n on Unsplash

February flew by this year! With all of the fun of celebrating Black History Month, Valentine’s Day, and the Super Bowl, the month was jam-packed with fun! With this past month being busy, I have collected some favorites that brought much-needed relaxation into my life. From my next favorite show to hair care, my favorites helped me prioritize my time away from work and busy social life. With that said, here are my February favorites!

Aunt Jackie’s Coconut Butter Creme

This product was my go-to a few years ago, and I forgot how much I loved what it did for my hair! For my natural friends with 4b/4c texture, the texture of this product is perfect for giving your coils the moisture they need. I have used it to style wash-and-gos and Bantu knots, showing its ability to be versatile for wet and dry styles. It also has a warm coconut scent that will be sure to earn you a few compliments! A bonus is that the ingredients are sulfate, paraben, mineral oil, and petroleum-free, giving a healthy way to lock in moisture during the styling process!

The Gilded Age

I have never been an exclusive lover of period pieces (other than Bridgerton), but HBO’s new show, The Gilded Age, has me hooked! The show sets in the rise of New York City during the Gilded Age as America is on the brink of modernization in 1882. The main character, Marian Brook (Louisa Jacobson Gummer), moves to New York to live with her aunts. As she begins to understand the social order of New York, she is caught between the desires of her Aunt Agnes (Christine Baranski) to maintain the social hierarchy of the city or to pave her path and live a life of her choosing. What also draws to this show is its depiction of racism at the time. Peggy Scott (Denée Benton) is close, dare I say, a friend of Marian and an aspiring journalist. Her character beautifully highlights the struggles of Black women and our resiliency at the same time. The Gilded Age is streaming on HBO, and new episodes are released each Monday at 9 pm EST.

Til’ I Want No More by Robin W. Pearson

Last month Robin Pearson’s A Long Time Comin’ was one of my favorites, and this month her second novel has followed in its footsteps. Another beautiful addition to Southern and Christian fiction, the plot follows the life of Maxine, a newly engaged Black journalist caught between her hopeful future with fiance Theodore and the past with her high-school love, JD. When Maxine realizes being the most authentic version of herself means bearing the truth of her past, it brings her to a standstill. Pearson wonderfully captures the Black experience, Southern living, and the impacts of deep-rooted faith in her depictions of Maxine’s life and how she develops throughout the novel. This is a wonderfully relaxing read that leaves you feeling emotional and full as each character seeks to find their versions of healing and restoration.

--

--

faith anderson
The Blak Lotus

disciple. journalist. musician. yellow enthusiast. seeker of Truth.