Top 5 Artists to Listen to Right Now

Kristin Orr
The Blak Lotus
4 min readFeb 7, 2022

--

Photo: PinkPantheress / Aidan Zamiri

With Black History Month approaching, there’s been a few black artists that I’ve had on repeat recently. Most of these artists are up-and-coming visionaries who I think will go far. Ranging from pop, rap, experimental, and R&B, each artist has something special about their sound that I feel is worth checking out.

PinkPantheress

One of my favorite artists to emerge from TikTok is none other than PinkPantheress. One of the first songs I heard from PinkPantheress was “Break it Off,” which became a viral hit on TikTok, and eventually made its way to streaming services. What I enjoy the most about her music is its distinct sound giving off bedroom pop and late 90s vibes. She released her debut album “to hell with it” last year, and as of lately, I’ve had it on a constant loop. Recently on TikTok, she’s been teasing a new song with Willow Smith. The two haven’t announced when the song will come out, but I’m sure it’ll be a hit.

My Favorite Track: “I must apologize”

Photo: Zack Fox / Abdi Ibrahim

Zack Fox

Years ago, I followed comedian Zack Fox on Twitter and watched as he became more and more famous. He eventually ventured into the music industry, which I believe was one of the best decisions made. The best thing about his music is that he incorporates humor into his songs. In 2019, he appeared in The Cave, a YouTube series by Kenny Beats, a producer, and friend of Fox. In this series, Kenny works with the beats then rappers appear to freestyle off it. In this special episode, the two would create the song “Jesus is the One (I Got Depression),” which reached the #1 spot on Spotify’s U.S. Viral Chart. Fox released several singles and dropped his debut studio album “shut the f*ck up talking to me” last year, which is without a doubt worth listening to all the way.

My Favorite Track: “fafo”

Photo: Yves Tumor / Paul Kooiker

Yves Tumor

If there’s one artist that I’ve had on repeat almost every single day, it’s Yves Tumor. What I love about Yves Tumor is that they do not fall into a particular genre of music. This reason is that no two songs are ever the same. In 2020, they released their fourth studio album, “Heaven To A Tortured Mind,” which received widespread acclaim and is now personally one of my favorite albums. They do their fair share of genre-bending with this album, and each song has something new to offer. Last year they released “The Asymptotical World” EP, which features the many sounds of shoegaze mixed with experimental rock and hints of dream pop, all clashing to make a perfect record.

My Favorite Track: “Kerosene”

Photo: Shygirl / Hidhir Badaruddin

Shygirl

Another artist who became a personal favorite is the British DJ, rapper, and singer, Shygirl. If you ever dive into the hyperpop scene, you are destined to run into either a Shygirl track or feature. Since 2016, she has released many singles, including “UCKERS,” which became a trending song on TikTok within the past year. In 2020, Shygirl released her EP “Alias,” which features industrial, garage, pop, and hip hop sounds, with Shygirl, rapping and singing throughout the tracks. Since the EP, she has released two singles in 2021. “BDE”, which features British rapper slowthai, is a sex-positive electronic dance track, and “Cleo” is another electronic track with a dramatic orchestral opening. If you’re familiar with the works of Sega Bodega, ARCA, SOPHIE, and FKA Twigs, then I recommend Shygirl, who has collaborated with each of the artists individually.

My Favorite Track: “SLIME”

Photo: KAYTRANADA / Liam Macrae

KAYTRANADA

The last artist who is without a doubt worth listening to is KAYTRANADA. The Haitian-Canadian producer and DJ have made some of the best dance tracks and remixes that will get you to bop your head and do a dance. In 2019, KAYTRANADA released his second studio album, “Bubba,” which received critical acclaim and earned him 2 Grammys for Best Dance/Electronic Album, with the hit single “10%” with Kali Uchis winning Best Dance Recording. This album has become the staple for all my long drives the past few summers, especially songs “Go DJ” and “Scared to Death.” KAYTRA recently released his third EP, “Intimidated,” last year, which features H.E.R., Thundercat, and Mach-Hommy, in tracks paired up with soul and R&B beats. This EP proves that KAYTRA has much more to offer and amps us up for another album that’s hopefully coming soon.

My Favorite Track: “Gray Area (feat. Mick Jenkins)”

--

--

Kristin Orr
The Blak Lotus

writer ∙ cinephile ∙ music lover ∙ college grad ∙ trying to find my place in the world ☼