God’s Introvert

The Blessed Interviews
The Blessed Interviews
3 min readNov 27, 2016

“Through my art, I want to show people that it’s possible for introverts like myself, to communicate the Gospel in a way that’s honest, personal, and impactful.”

  • Wynn Yau
  • A Graphic Designer and Illustrator
  • From Toronto, Canada

Tell me a bit about your life journey so far and how your walk with Jesus Christ has shaped it? I grew up in a Christian household, so going to church naturally became a part of my weekly routine. I was the shy, quiet kid, which made attending a megachurch feel a bit lonely and intimidating — I just didn’t have a sense of belonging in that environment. Fast forward to my second year of university, and that’s when things started changing for me. I was going through a difficult season in my life, and God introduced me to the Korean Christian Fellowship (KCF) on campus. That’s where I met some wonderful people who taught me that it’s okay not to be okay, and that burdens are meant to be shared. Through our times of fellowship, God slowly healed and restored my hope. I’m currently in my final year of university and I’ve dedicated my year to serving on the leadership of KCF. I can’t wait to see what God has in stall for us!

Was there any piece of media, that helped you get through your difficult season? I discovered the YouTube channel of the author and spoken word artist Jefferson Bethke. At the time, his spoken word video titled “Why I Hate Religion, But Love Jesus” had just gone viral. His personal testimony and teaching, helped me understand God’s heart a little bit better.

How did you discover your passion for lettering design? Over the summer, I participated in lettering artist, Stefan Kunz’s “30 Days of Bible Lettering” challenge, on Instagram. This launched my passion for lettering art and design.

What challenges did you have to overcome during that period? At first, it started off as a creative outlet for processing and reflecting on God’s Word. But soon it became more about the final product. I began to measure myself against the other designers whom I look up to. I began to search for the ‘perfect aesthetic’, forgetting that God is the one who made creativity and imagination possible in the first place. While I’m still inspired by the great talents around me, Jesus is constantly reminding me that I don’t need to become a better artist for Him to love me more than He already does.

What legacy do you want to leave behind when you die? I want to be remembered as someone who loved well despite the number of things that would trip me up. Through my art, I want to show people that it’s possible for introverts like myself, to communicate the Gospel in a way that’s honest, personal, and impactful.

Thanks for reading!
And God Bless You!

Credits:

--

--

The Blessed Interviews
The Blessed Interviews

Interviews of Christian creatives sharing their life journey with Jesus Christ