Terror Tuesday: May 24, 2022

Brant Lewis
The Blog in the Woods
2 min readMay 24, 2022

Hey, I hope everyone is doing well. I am still stewing over Men, so I pushed back its review until Friday. Let me quickly go over some of the stuff I have watched and read since last week.

I have many thoughts about Men. It is a gorgeous and horrific movie, but it feels like the weakest of Alex Garland’s films. Jessie Buckley and Rory Kinnear are fantastic in it, along with some fantastic imagery.

I had pretty high expectations for Chip n’ Dale: Rescue Rangers due to being a Lonely Island fan and loving Akiva Schaffer’s previous movie, Popstar: Never Stop, Never Stopping, which exceeded my expectations. It reminded me a lot of Who Framed Roger Rabbit, and it had me laughing from beginning to end.

After being recommended/forced to watch the anime Spy x Family by some friends, I can now say that I am a massive fan of the show. It strikes the right balance of comedy, heart, and action. It is hard not to watch all of it at once.

My bank account was slightly lighter due to the number of X-Men comics last week. It’s a great time being an X-Men fan, and I have to highlight X-Men Red #2 and New Mutants #25 as the highlights for last week.

I recently reread The Dark Phoenix Saga, and it still hits all of the right beats. It is a classic for a reason. I’m in the process of going through Inferno again due to being a big Madelyne Pryor fan.

My articles about Titane for Fangoria and Horror and Independent Film for Dread Central went live last Thursday.

Thanks again for reading. You can keep with the blog and get updates by following it on Instagram @thebloginthewoods or by following/subscribing to The Blog in the Woods via Medium.

Feel free to check out more of my work and other projects while also supporting the blog by clicking on the link.

My reviews of are Night’s End and Doom Eternal live on Slay Away. I also wrote a piece about Al Ewing’s Guardians of the Galaxy for Comics Bookcase.

My review of Men will be live Friday.

--

--

Brant Lewis
The Blog in the Woods

I am a horror filmmaker and writer who loves vampires, ghosts, and the gothic. https://linktr.ee/brantlewis