Trailer Tuesday: 2/22/22

Brant Lewis
The Blog in the Woods
3 min readFeb 22, 2022

Welcome to another Trailer Tuesday. Let’s unpack some trailers that interested me, along with horror news, film releases coming up, and what’s on my watch list.

Studio 666 looks like a wild ride. The latest red-band trailer dropped, and I am very excited. The combination of The Foo Fighters with a Sam Raimi-style possession film is right up my alley. It’s honestly my rock and roll fantasy.

(The Rialto Report)

Alfred Sole, the director, and writer of Alice, Sweet Alice, passed away at 78 years old last week. Outside of that film, he did work on several tv shows, including Friday the 13th: The Series and Alfred Hitchcock Presents.

Another King work is getting an adaptation and has their cast. The Boogeyman, based on his short story of the same name, recently cast Sophie Thatcher, Chris Messina, David Dastmalchian, Marin Ireland, Vivien Lyra Blair, and Madison Hu. The film will premiere exclusively on Hulu.

Umma, Sam Raimi’s latest produced film starring Sandra Oh, will now be released on March 18, 2022.

As for new releases, we have one theatrical release and a new one on Shudder.

(IGN)

Studio 666, a horror-comedy starring The Foo Fighters, will be released this weekend theatrically. It looks like a ton of fun, and I cannot wait to watch it.

A new folk horror film, Hellbender, will be released on Shudder this Thursday, February 24. I have been keeping tabs on this movie, and it will be an immediate watch from me.

As for my watch list, I recently picked up The Blackcoat’s Daughter and The City of the Dead from the video store. In addition, I finally got a copy of the excellent Saint Maud.

I am still amazed at what James Gunn pulled off with Peacemaker with television. It’s a perfect show that hit all of the marks. And much like Eagly, it soared.

Last week’s Homesick Pilots and the anthology series The Silver Coin knocked it out of the park when it comes to comics. I want to shout out Vita Ayala’s issue for The Silver Coin #9. Aside from highlighting the real-life issue of arson and insurance fraud in 1970/1980s New York, they provide a very stellar and scary issue with Michael Walsh’s incredible art.

Thanks again for reading. You can keep with the blog and get updates by following it on Instagram @thebloginthewoods or by following/subscribing to The Blog in the Woods via Medium. Continuing “Found Footage-February,” I will be looking at Willow Creek and Rec on Thursday and Saturday. Also, I will link my review of Texas Chainsaw Massacre (2022) as soon as Slay Away publishes it.

--

--

Brant Lewis
The Blog in the Woods

I am a horror filmmaker and writer who loves vampires, ghosts, and the gothic. https://linktr.ee/brantlewis