Why Debian Is Perfect as a Desktop OS

I’ve been using Debian Stable as my daily driver for over 5 years now and couldn’t be happier

Ehsan Nazim
The Blog of Ehsan Nazim

--

Image by Leonardo Rocha Léo from Pixabay

I have always had a thing for new and shiny software. I wanted to try new software even before it got released for the general public to use. I beta tested many software. I tried all the Windows releases starting from Windows 98.

Eventually I got tired of trying out Windows versions. I wanted to try something new, something that I could get hooked on. I found Linux.

Like most people, my journey to the Linux world started with Ubuntu. Ubuntu’s huge community and unparalleled documentation made it easy for me to find my way through the Linux world.

I used Ubuntu on and off for about a year. I tried all available desktop environments and several standalone window managers. But I got bored again and started distro-hopping.

I had distro-hopped for a couple of years before I settled down with Debian. I wanted an OS with a stable base, least problems and with abundance of software. Debian Stable had everything I needed with a little annoyance.

The software in Debian’s Stable repository is a bit outdated. This was a showstopper for me at first. I then got my priorities straight and realized that the benefits…

--

--

Ehsan Nazim
The Blog of Ehsan Nazim

Helping you do more and be more with one article at a time.