Starting the Day off in the Right Direction

Away from me, and toward others.

TS
THE BLOG OF TREY WATTS
1 min readDec 23, 2019

--

My natural default is to focus on “me”. Its normal for people to do so, I guess, but for a person with an over-sized ego like myself, it can go beyond a healthy norm and often becomes a problem.

Selfishness and self-centeredness are two of my big character flaws that pop-up when “me” isn’t kept in check.

I’ve found though, if I start my day by focusing on what I can do for others, instead of “me”, my ego gets right-sized and my day goes so much better.

This simple prayer was suggested to me by a mentor, and I try to make it a practice that before my feet hit the floor to ask God to…

Guide me today and show me how I can be of maximum service to others.

Even though I don’t know where the day ahead will take me, I know that if I start my day rightly focused on what I can do for others and not on “me” I know I’m headed in the right direction.

--

--

TS
THE BLOG OF TREY WATTS

I like to make things on the internet when I’m not working or buried in diapers. | Husband | Father of 4 |