Blueprint to Success: Matt Limeri making email cool, one sale at a time

Tara Sussman
The Bluecore People Machine
3 min readMar 6, 2020

Matt Limeri, Account Director at Bluecore, didn’t consider life as a seller until he worked at Bluecore and saw the possibility. About a year after he joined, he made the switch from Sales Engineer to Account Director and quickly had an impact. Within six months of his transition, Matt helped close a large and critical deal with a retailer that was complex, challenging and hard won.

Matt Limeri, Account Director at Bluecore

“No one gets to be this lucky,” he says. “Bluecore has a culture of learning and growth so they really supported me. Getting validation that this is something I can do so quickly into the role helped give me confidence going into the rest of the year.”

Confidence is key in sales. But can you learn to be a sales powerhouse or are you born with it?

“It can absolutely be taught with a [growth mindset],” Matt asserts. “Some people are better than others. Maybe you’re a natural extrovert. Maybe you’re just a natural in disarming people and can build trust quickly. But we’re in an industry where we’re not just selling based on relationships, you really have to prove value to customers to buy something so that involves a ton of homework on the person you’re talking to, the company they work for and what’s important to them.”

Understanding the world of email marketing is the first hurdle that Matt didn’t need to jump over. He’s been in email marketing his entire career, spanning three companies and 10 years. So why work at Bluecore?

“Bluecore made email cool” Matt says.

And with his move to sales, Matt notes, “The rewards are big, but you constantly have a quota over your head. The switch from pre-sales to sales is exactly as advertised. It’s as exciting and great but also as stressful and horrible as you would think. It’s roller coaster weeks of emotion. The trick is, you just need to trust that if you continue to do the right things, keep structure around key points like your pipeline generation and moving deals forward, things will come in and they will close. But there are a lot of highs and lows!”

Shockingly enough, Matt didn’t grow up dreaming of being in software sales. He started out wanting to be a standup comedian. “I was born and raised on Staten Island. I’ve actually been in NYC my whole life so I went to high school in Staten Island, went to college in the Bronx, moved to Brooklyn after college and now I live in Manhattan. So I’m a Queens away from the NY infinity stone.”

But Matt is quick to give credit where it’s due.

“I met my wife at work in 2012 so email bleeds into personal life in that way,” Matt says. “ I wouldn’t have hardly any human qualities if I hadn’t met her. She’s an introvert by nature. I’d like to think that she writes all my funny stuff but I present it in a funny way. So anyone who thinks I’m funny, I just steal my material from her!”

Matt also gives a lot of credit for his deals and sales success to cross-functional teams at Bluecore.

“The team here is amazing. Maher, Patrick, Danielle and Dana, without those in Customer Success and Yamuna from Product, this ship isn’t floating, let alone wanting to sail further.”

Thinking of the bottom line, Matt just wants to make the biggest impact he can for Bluecore and the business. So he’s going to keep learning, keep selling and keep making those around him laugh so he can attain his childhood dream after all.

--

--

Tara Sussman
The Bluecore People Machine

People Partner @ Bluecore. Applying org psychology to the workplace. Passionate about people solutions that drive purpose and impact.