CSS Tip: Use :not to Save Time and Lines of Code

Timothy B. Smith
1 min readFeb 17, 2017

--

I saw this tweet from Matt Griffin:

Finally started making my life easier by using :not(:last-of-type) rather than overriding with a separate :last-of-type rule. Huzzah!

Mind. Blown.

Why didn’t I think of this earlier? This small thing saves so much time and lines of code. Let me explain. Let’s say you’re styling a list of posts.

<!-- This is what your html would look like -->
<ul class="posts">
<li class="post">
<a href="/link-to-post/" title="Permalink to post">
<h2>Post Title</h2>
<small>Thurs, Feb 16, 2017<small>
</a>
</li>
</ul>

This is how I foolishly used to style this. Foolishly I tell you!

.posts {
list-style: none;
margin: 0;
padding: 0;
}

.post {
border-bottom: 1px solid #eee;
margin-bottom: .5rem;
padding-bottom: .5rem;
&:last-child {
border-bottom: 0;
margin-bottom: 0;
padding-bottom: 0;
}
}

Lots of code just to space each post evenly, except for the last one. This is what :not was made for!

.post:not(:last-of-type) {
border-bottom: 1px solid #eee;
margin-bottom: .5rem;
padding-bottom: .5rem;
}

We’ve eliminated five lines of code here. Just imagine how much you’d save by using this throughout your code base! I made a CodePen for you to see this in action.

Hope this helps! If you have questions, send me an email to tim@theboldreport.net.

Originally published on The Bold Report.

--

--

Timothy B. Smith

Designer & front-end developer. Writing @brightlycolord. Recovering coffee addict.