A Romance Set In A Funeral Home?

Ashley Poston’s Adult Debut The Dead Romantics is a Delightful, Off-beat Romp

Jen McMorrow
The Book Cafe

--

Cover image of The Dead Romantics by Ashley Poston, cover shows an illustration of a man and a woman lying on their backs and reading. A black crow is perched on the man’s foot.
The Dead Romantics, by Ashley Poston, cover image from Goodreads

Before my recent week-long trip to the beach where I did nothing but rest and read, I stopped in Barnes and Noble to acquire some beach reads. In the front of the store, a whole table was covered in paperback copies of the new release The Dead Romantics. The cover drew me in, and as I picked up a copy to look over the blurb, a store employee passed and started gushing to me about what a delightful read it was. Sold.

And thank you, forever anonymous Barnes and Noble employee, because this was the most fun I have had reading in a long time. I didn’t know at the time that an off-beat ghost story turned romance was what I was craving to read, but pretty much from the moment I started reading I could hardly put this one down.

The Story

The book follows Florence Day, a ghostwriter for a major romance author, who is suffering writer’s block after her last relationship ended in heartbreak and shattered her belief in love. After she fails to convince her ( hot!) editor Ben to extend her deadline, she is summoned to the small Southern hometown she has avoided for a decade after the unexpected death of her father.

--

--

Jen McMorrow
The Book Cafe

Freelance writer based in Raleigh, NC. I write on my healing journey and related topics such as love, dating and relationships, wellness, and mental health.