Here’s Why ‘Show Your Work’ by Austin Kleon Should Be Your Next Book If You Are A Creative Person

A Book Meant for Creative People

Husain Necklace
The Book Cafe
2 min readSep 16, 2022

--

Shot and edited by Husain Necklace

My initial reaction after reading this book was: “Wow! Finally someone who talks sense!”

As a writer, I’ve heard it all.

I’ve heard people calling writing a low-paying job, I’ve heard them calling me stupid for pursuing my creative endeavors, I’ve even heard them bashing me for making poor career choices.

Which is why Show Your Work by Austin Kleon is such an important book, not just for me but for every creative person.

Austin Kleon not only talks about creativity as a tool for leading a better life, but in the process he actually deconstructs creativity and lays it bare in front of the readers; explaining why it should be an important element in everyone’s life.

He put’s it this way: we all have a child within us that withdraws deeper into the recess of our minds as we grow up. It is important to bring out that child every now and then, so we don’t completely abandon them. Doing this will keep us more happy, satisfied, and motivated to finish our day-to-day tasks.

As a creative person, it is important to keep feeding this inner-child so that it continues to churn up creative ideas. Whether we believe it or not, this inner-child holds the power button to our creativity.

Similarly, in his book Kleon suggests all his creative readers to maintain a diary where they practice their creativity every day. Basically, he asks us to maintain a repository of all our ideas and stories, so we are never dry and bare to the bone when it comes to creativity.

I recommend this book to creative people because they will truly understand the passion that pumps through the pages of this book, and they will appreciate it. While there is something for everyone in this book, I really believe that it can change your life if you are a creative person.

I guess you will have to read it and see for yourself!

Follow me on Instagram for more book reviews

Follow me on Twitter for writing tips

--

--