Books

“I’m Glad My Mom Died” and Other Startling Statements

Read them in Jeannette McCurdy’s revealing memoir

Kate Reed
The Book Cafe
Published in
4 min readSep 18, 2022

--

A copy of I’m Glad My Mom Died by Jeannette Mccurdy on a marble countertop. The book is a hardcover copy with a yellow and pink sleeve. There is an image of the McCurdy with a close lipped smile, dressed in pink, and holding a pink urn with confetti spilling out of it.

Synopsis

At the age of six, Jeannette McCurdy’s mother pushed her into the profession of acting. Determined to have her daughter become a star, she signed her with agencies, enrolled her in acting and dancing classes, and introduced her to calorie counting by the time she was eleven. Because you can’t be successfully famous without being skinny, right?

In her memoir, McCurdy opens up about life with her mother who lived vicariously through her as she gained popularity over the course of her acting career. She talks about her struggles growing up in an emotionally manipulative home, being thrown into a career she had not desired, developing eating disorders, and mourning her mother’s death caused by cancer.

Told with both seriousness and sarcasm, McCurdy shows readers an example of what it’s like to be a child star in the public eye by detailing defining moments of her life both before and after her mother’s death.

Discovering I’m Glad My Mom Died

Like many others who grew up in the 2000s and 2010s, I watched iCarly. Though I did not follow the show as closely as some superfans, I did…

--

--

Kate Reed
The Book Cafe

(she/her/hers) Writing about books, simple living, sustainability, and minimalism. Based in Northern California.