I’ve Met These People, Y’know?

Cee Arr
The Book Cafe
Published in
2 min readMar 10, 2022

--

A mini-review of Dat’s Love and Other Stories (also published as ‘Selected Stories’) by Leonora Brito

Dat’s Love & Other Stories title image with red willow branches hanging down over the corner
Image: reviewer’s own, made with Canva

Dat’s Love and Other Stories by Leonora Brito (also published as ‘Selected Stories’)

Genres: Anthology, Short Stories, Contemporary(-ish,) Historical Fiction

I loved this collection.

This is snapshots of life, primarily set in Cardiff’s Docklands, and within the city’s Black community.

It’s also Black Cardiffian #OwnVoices.

Just as a reminder: I don’t live in the city, and I’m White. So that’s my perspective.

I am, however, familiar both with Cardiff, and with Wales in general 😉

What did I love most about this anthology?

It’s both the Wales I know and love and the Wales I’m not really a part of at the same time.

Because there’s room here for all sorts of people, and we’re all equally Welsh (so long as you want to be, ofc, and don’t support England in the rugby.)

There’s something epically awesome about reading ’effing’ and ‘poor dab’ as part of…

--

--

Cee Arr
The Book Cafe

Writer, reader, poet, (book) blogger @ dorareads.co.uk , Queer, weird, bookish rebel. Welsh as a tractor on the M4. Buy me a coffee @ ko-fi.com/ceearr