Keanu Reeves, Ode to Happiness

Wow. $1500 for a used copy on Amazon

Linda Caroll
The Book Cafe

--

photo of Keanu Reeves holding his book Ode to Happiness
Ode to Happiness cover from Amazon | Author photos from BBC | Keanu with book photo from Fanpop

Keanu Reeves wasn’t trying to write a book.

It started as a joke.

Just Keanu being Keanu.

He was hanging out in his kitchen with his friend Janey, and the radio was playing an endless stream of horrible, depressing music.

So he grabbed a piece of paper and started writing a depressing poem.

As he was writing it, Janey was laughing at how absurd it was.

“I was in my kitchen hanging out with my friend Janey, and the radio was on — and this station was playing, like, an orgy of depressing, self-pitying, nostalgic music. You know: ‘I’m so lonely and I’ve been left and my heart is broken.’ It was so voluptuously horrible.

And I just started to write on this piece of paper, because I had this image of, you know, that moment when you take that bath, you light that candle, and you’re really just kind of depressed.

And it was making…

--

--