Owl in Love

A Teen Romance that nests science with fantasy

Margie Pearl
The Book Cafe

--

book cover of teen girl next to photo of perching owl
Book cover collaged with owl photo from Canva / by author

Schoolgirl by day, owl by night. . .

Meet Owl Tycho.

I am in love with Mr. Lindstrom, my science teacher. I found out where he lives and every night I perch on a tree branch outside his bedroom window and watch him sleep. He sleeps in his underwear: Fruit of the Loom, size 34.

She is no ordinary teenager with a crush. She is a were-owl which means she has extraordinary hearing, vision, and hunting instincts.

Owl’s hyperfocused intensity makes her a fabulous hero, but it is her shrewd alliance with her classmate Dawn that make this story so touching. Owl has to master trust, friendship, and love in a month — and when she does she soars.

This hilarious tale juggles teen angst, mental illness, genteel poverty, caring for a special needs child, and canny observation of owl and human nature.

I learn something new and wonderful each time I read it. Though Owl’s emotions are all over the place, she is wise beyond her years. She’s researched her infatuation in Seventeen magazine:

Mr. Lindstrom is not a substitute for my father . . . My father is as pale as a potato sprouting in a root cellar; Mr. Lindstrom is red and brown and furry like the flanks of a…

--

--

Margie Pearl
The Book Cafe

Tell me a story! margie@margiepearl.com. Author, storyteller, poet, seamstress, knitter, gardener. Bio.link/margiepe