3 Reasons to Read Melange by Dr Prakriti L Thapa

Zack
The Book Channel
Published in
2 min readMar 8, 2022

Some poetry books turn me on and I, then, never forget them. Off late, I had a chance to meet a very short yet effective poetry collection titled, Melange, written by Dr Prakriti L Thapa. The book can be remembered for its aura of emotions…human emotions. It took me through the crest and troughs in the sea of emotions. Yeah, for sure, it’s now treasured in my library! So, in this post, I am putting why I should remember it for as long as my life.

1)

Potpourri of Emotions:

21 poems but seems like a pot full of emotions of all types…such as gratitude, love, heartbreaks, life vagaries, loneliness…wait there are more…better look at the poems once again. Humans can reel under a variety of emotions, it’s possible, and it’s not a sin. If there are poems on hate, it has good share of love and compassion too.

2)

Looks Simple but Intense:

I read all the poems in less than an hour. 21 poems in 30 pages. The writing style is simple and straight. I could finish reading the book in an hour but its intensity still haunts me. It was a short collection but not the light! When the book talks about vices like liar, being alone, vicissitudes of life, it sketches a life of a rag picker, and captures a repentance of a lover…my heart thawed! I sighed in appreciation for the poet. Words can pierce your heart, so much was the intensity!! For instance, look at the stanza from “Interdict Love No More”:

Forgive your heart which held hate,

For so long you lived behind a closed gate,

Run free and interdict love no more,

For there dwells love in your core.

It weighs love and hate in one balance. What an exquisite intensity it brings to the heart of readers.

3)

Docile Literary Aspects

Dr Prakriti L Thapa did not confuse readers. She kept the poems simple, narrated the events in lyrical prose, without bending words and meanings. From the literary aspects the book is more of like free flowing with absolute clarity of message for humankind. With so much content prevalent on social media, it becomes tough to distinguish between confounded thoughts and poetry, well here I think the poet kept her stance clear. She is a poet and she writes poems of prowess.

--

--

Zack
The Book Channel

Bibliophile! Compulsive reader! Writer and editor @ The Book Channel Publication.