5 Best Latest Indian Poetry Books That You Must Read

Zack
The Book Channel
Published in
4 min readMay 28, 2019
  1. Ivory Gleam by Dr. Priya Dolma Tamang:

Ivory Gleam by Dr. Priya Dolma Tamang is a delightful collection of poems and prose. Segmented into three: Learning, Longing, and Loving. These poems can take you on the ride of life, high and low, as the collection abounds with various themes.

The good news is that the collection is full of poems, and it is healthy in length, it means you can relish it for a longer time and should not shy away from rereading.

The best from the collection is:

Tenacity

Last year’s rose

is blooming bold afresh,

beside that rustic bench

I warmed,

eyeing my half-done dreams prick

to melt away.

Seasons prod

in fragrance & thorns

how onslaught of old nights

heralds victory of a new day.

2. Growing Up by Ruhee Advani:

This is going to be a special collection for anyone who has left behind her/his teenage days back. The poems are full of teenage themes — as how one feels with love or without love or with friends or without friends. Simply amazing collection. The favourite poem is:

The Parcel of My Memories

Parcel up my past

Wrap my memories

The Parcel is painful

It hurts my heart

It pricks my soul

The parcel of my memories

And then I leave

The parcel on my shelf

But its presence disturbs me

So I come home one day

And open up the parcel

Cry a little, laugh a little, till

It all becomes a part of me

Again

And then I’m free

3. Gilding a Hermit by Rocor Deignan:

Gilding a Hermit is written by a 17-year-old boy, the book is divided into two parts — early life and later life. The poet explores his anger towards the world in both the segments quite brilliantly. If you feel like venting out your anger on this world, well then this is for you. The book is noted for its intensity and boldness. The best from the collection is:

Gifted

I aroused from most ordeal traits

So rewarded with a crescent

And corporeal number of wounds,

In return to shelter

pay me eminence.

4. Purple Riot by Mary Suneetha Joy:

A short book on poems which consist around 30 poems. The poems have spiraled from the poet’s day to day life and include memories of good old days. Best from the collection is:

Love:

Wherever I go, I see your face in the vast crowds,

In the face of strangers, on the walls, on the pages,

While I try my best to keep you away day and night.

Keep your thoughts that come like chorus in a song.

You come back in the rain and in the bright sunshine,

In the ochre light of early dawn or the purple sunset,

Your voice that trails across the miles to bring a smile,

While you remain a memory that I try hard to erase.

It brings back a much forgotten era of bright sunshine,

When we were both young and wild under the noon,

When our voices that commingled could bring friends,

From far and wide just to listen to the merriment seen.

But now, this heart wants to build a strong fortress,

Just to keep you from making me a slave of your love.

5. Feelings — A Magical World by Ritu Mathur:

Poems are quite typical in the collection, however, they appeal to people who find good and positivity everywhere. The best bet about the poems is the inclusion of nature everywhere. Best from the collection:

Mornings

The sun shines bright

Darkness ends in its light.

Air feels so fresh and lovely,

A few deep breaths fills you with energy.

Chirping of birds feels soothing to the ear,

the best music for everyone to hear.

Trees and plants look pure and green,

A walk on the grass heals up everything.

Presence of God is felt everywhere,

Nature is at its best everywhere.

People wake up with a smile,

To start a new day of their life.

Fresh mind brings new ideas to float,

It helps in achieving new challenges and goals.

Everything is bustling with energy and life,

This is the best thing about “Mornings” I like.

--

--

Zack
The Book Channel

Bibliophile! Compulsive reader! Writer and editor @ The Book Channel Publication.