4 Literary Devices Through the Lens of (Mainly) Disney

Using an unexpected *muse* to point the way to better understanding of metaphor, personification, isocolon and imagery.

Obinna Morton
The Book Mechanic
5 min readJan 7, 2020

--

Image courtesy of Unsplash

When the live-action Beauty and the Beast was released a few years ago, I didn’t know if it would be worth the watch. Did I want to see Belle and the Beast as real people? Especially when I’d been captivated by the original animated feature? It was etched to my childhood.

But strangely, it was a remake I liked. As I hear around town, I “shipped” it.

So what’s the point of this?

Disney and its ability, no matter the format, to tell a story in 1991 or 2017. And likely 2020, too.

And also, if we dig a little deeper, how they also use memorable writing in their music, too.

So I’d like to deviate a little from the textbook norm, today.

Today’s post will be about literary devices, and how they make our writing more interesting. Except, instead of reviewing a novel or play, what if we looked at Disney songs?

So I’d like to take you over, sideways and under four different literary devices by way of (mainly) Disney. And we can review ways to bring more life to our writing, via an unexpected muse?

To this end, I’ve assembled a number of Disney flicks, and one timeless (in my opinion) classic from Dreamworks. Would you like to be my guest and join me on a journey of unveiling these four literary devices: imagery, metaphor, personification and isocolon?

(Lumière, lead the way!)

If your answer is yes, then let’s go. Onward.

1. Imagery

Imagery uses language that is descriptive and appeals to the senses, helping us to create mental pictures in our mind.

Now, the music.

“Evermore” (Beauty and the Beast)

Wasting in my lonely tower
Waiting by an open door
I’ll fool myself, she’ll walk right in
And be with me for evermore

In this verse, the listeners experience a vivid image of what’s happening. We see the Beast in his tower, sad, lonely and dejected. It’s powerful because our mind’s eye can then envision this tragic, unloved image. *a rose petal drops*

Image courtesy of Pixabay

2. Metaphor

A metaphor is a literary device that draws a likeness between ideas or entities without the use of “like” or “as.” For example, she’s a Georgia Peach.

Now, the music.

“Never Knew I Needed” (Princess and the Frog)

I must admit you were not a part of my book
But now if you open it up and take a look
You’re the beginning and the end of every chapter

The singer-songwriter Ne-Yo uses metaphor here to describe how one girl/woman goes from not being a part of the story, to being the “beginning and end of every chapter.” She becomes a character in this story, so to speak.

Gif courtesy of Giphy.com

3. Personification

Personification imbues a non-human object with human attributes. Like a sun that smiled with its warmth…yes, that works.

Now, the music.

“Journey to the Past” (Anastasia)

Heart, don’t fail me now.
Courage, don’t desert me.
Don’t turn back now that we’re here.

I really love the movie Anastasia. And I love this song too sung by the late and beautiful singer Aaliyah. “Heart” and “courage” are both personified, characters that join Anastasia on her journey to understand her royal roots.

Image courtesy of Giphy.com

4. Isocolon

Isocolon uses sentences, words or phrases of parallel length, structure or rhythm, helping to make a phrase more memorable. A well-known example of isocolon the phrase veni, vidi, vici.

Now, the music.

“A Whole New World” (Aladdin)

Unbelievable sights
Indescribable feeling
Soaring, tumbling, freewheeling
Through an endless diamond sky

Here, the phrase is — you guessed it — “soaring, tumbling, freewheeling” where each word has a similar “-ing” pattern. And even “freewheeling” can still fit in the same counts as “soaring” and “tumbling.” So I don’t think the third syllable is really that unmatched.

Do you trust me? Do you trust me?! Gif courtesy of Giphy.com

Bonus: Two More Examples

This time, though, I’ll ask you to guess. It might be silly, and I assume, there’s much I can learn from you about writing. But ’tis for a bit of fun, n’est-ce pas? Allons-y! (Let’s go!) Is that you Lumière?

1. “Let It Go” (Frozen)

The snow glows white on the mountain tonight
Not a footprint to be seen
A kingdom of isolation
And it looks like I’m the queen

Idina Menzel’s lustrous vocals help the listener see and feel Queen Elsa’s isolation atop a snow-covered mountain. “Glows” is a stand-out word with energy. It brings more life to the verse, almost letting us feel in our mind’s eye the chill of the snow.

What literary device does this verse show?

Answer: Imagery

2. “Reflection” (Mulan)

Who is that girl I see, staring straight back at me?
Why is my reflection someone I don’t know?

Ah, Mulan. I do like how they’ve ______________ the reflection, which is in a sense Mulan herself. In doing this, the writer makes the reflection a false identity, Mulan versus “Mulan”, which she battles with through the film.

Fill in the blank. Also, what literary device does this verse show?

Answer: Personified; personification

So that’s it. I was hoping to add examples from The Lion King, Moana and The Prince of Egypt. But I didn’t find examples that worked, I felt.

So my one hope is that this put a spin on the literary devices of personification, isocolon and metaphor. For you. Using Disney movies, and one Dreamworks production.

These tools we can use in our writing to make our words more interesting. Wondrous. Splendid.

For more examples of literary devices, check out this article of 35+ literary devices, if you dare. It is what I referenced to write this.

Thanks for reading. May the lessons, like the wonder I feel with these films, stay with you for evermore.

You just read another exciting post from the Book Mechanic: the writer’s source for creating books that work and selling those books once they’re written.

If you’d like to read more stories just like this one tap here to visit

--

--

Obinna Morton
The Book Mechanic

My name is Obinna. This is my story. WEOC, The Pink, The Book Mechanic.