5 Self-Promotion Strategies for Creators Who Hate Marketing

Even if all you want to do is make stuff and can’t stand selling

August Birch
The Book Mechanic

--

Photo by Alena Jarrett on Unsplash

Believe me. I understand. I used to feel the same way. All I wanted to do was make stuff. I hated the idea of ‘selling,’ The whole process made me feel all oogie inside. Like I was doing something wrong. As if I was a sell-out to my craft.

I got seven different emails this week. From seven different creators, all over the world. And each of the seven emails said the same thing.

“How can I sell my stuff without spending all my time promoting it?”

First, we must get something square:

If you don’t tell the others no one will know you exist. Period. There are a million wide-eyed creators who woke-up this morning, hoping for the same dream — to sit in the corner and make stuff and people will come and buy it, just on the sheer merit of the work.

I even had a reader email me yesterday, all angry that there wasn’t a way indie writers could get paid for all the day-to-day work of writing their book. If you haven’t finished the thing it doesn’t exist. And you don’t get paid.

There isn’t one business model that works with the build-it-and-they-just-show-up model. Well, except the ER and funeral…

--

--

August Birch
The Book Mechanic

Blue-Collar Marketing Mentor for Writers and Creators | Get a copy of my free email strategy book, the Big 100 here: https://augustbirch.com/big100