Are Medium Story Stats Totally Broken And Can They Be Trusted?

This example will show you why I question everything now

August Birch
The Book Mechanic

--

Photo by Luis Villasmil on Unsplash

This story is an accident. I used to be obsessed with my Medium stats, back in the day when you could easily make 2 grand a month writing daily content. I’d fresh and re-fresh my stats maybe 100 times a day. It was a real problem. I’ve since broken this terrible addiction and now check them once a week.

But something weird happened as I tracked this recent story:

I noticed the total reads were stuck. The read number stopped rising. But the story earns more than a dollar a day, long after I wrote it.

I didn’t think the numbers lined-up, so I took a deeper look. And sure-enough, there are multiple days where I’ve got zero read time and the story keeps earning money.

Here are some stats screen shots (all from the same story above) to illustrate my example:

--

--

August Birch
The Book Mechanic

Blue-Collar Marketing Mentor for Writers and Creators | Get a copy of my free email strategy book, the Big 100 here: https://augustbirch.com/big100