9 Steps to Writing Every Day

How I Developed the Habit and How You Can Too

August Birch
The Book Mechanic

--

Build the daily writing habit once and for all

I’ve heard the statement since the day I started my writing education. Writers must write every day. It sounds so romantic and noble. But when the rubber meets the proverbial keyboard, ‘writing every day’ is a damn-hard habit to develop. At least, it was a hard habit for me. Maybe it’ll be easy for you.

Daily writing is something I’ve struggled with for years. I wanted it badly, but I didn’t have the right framework in place. I tried about every method you can think of. I’d write for a couple weeks straight then something would derail me. Once stopped, it was much harder to get my cheeks in the seat.

Maybe you’re struggling with this too. Writers are weird people. We want to have the ‘writer’ title and we love writing once we’re doing it, but we’ll do just about anything to avoid the process — look! there’s laundry to be done.

There are many caveats to daily writing For every writer who swears by this practice you’ll find another who writes only in sporadic cram-sessions. This story isn’t meant as a debate on all the merits and pitfalls of daily writing. If daily writing is a habit you’ve tried to develop in the past, but failed, this story is for you.

Why I Believe in Daily Writing:

--

--

August Birch
The Book Mechanic

Blue-Collar Marketing Mentor for Writers and Creators | Get a copy of my free email strategy book, the Big 100 here: https://augustbirch.com/big100