How I Made Over $500 in 2 Months From Publishing on Medium in 2020

How Medium and JavaScript Changed My Writing Hobby

ThankGod Ukachukwu
The Book Mechanic

--

I opened my first blog in 2009 on Blogger because I always wanted to write. As a voracious reader, I always wanted to write for others to read too. I write as a hobby. I started with writing about socio-political issues. I also wanted to earn money from such writings. Living in Nigeria, any means to make extra income added to monthly income is desirable. However, Blogger’s model of earnings through advert clicks meant earnings come in dimes. Somehow, I quit. However, some years later I picked up writing again but mostly about politics. I was able to get my writings into a leading youth online newspaper Ynaija and other media publications in my country.

I have not intimated you my reader. I am a software engineer. Though I was able to develop my writing skills to a reasonable level, I still felt, there was a void. I wanted to be part of tech writing. In my many years of software development. I have read blogs, tutorials and articles, and I desire to contribute. Many a times, reading through some tech writings, I wish I could explain it better. The gaps in articles which makes it difficult for readers especially beginners to grasp the concepts written about are often times glaring.

--

--