How to Make Medium Your Indie Marketing Partner

You don’t even have to pick up the phone

August Birch
The Book Mechanic

--

Photo by Ahmet Sali on Unsplash

As indie creators we only have so much time to promote our work. Whether you paint, make, code, or write, if you don’t tell the others your best work hardly exists.

I struggled with self-promotion over the past 20 years I’ve spent. We can pay for ads or we can pay for marketing with our time.

I’m a grinder, so I chose time.

Also, I like to own my traffic.

Originally, I wrote for one of those article mills, cranking out dozens of articles a week for pennies per hour.

This was before the days of Medium — long before.

Most of these sites were bombarded with ads on every surface, diminishing their legitimacy. The work pace was frantic and the upside was small.

Later, Medium took the world of content by storm. Here, there are no visible ads. You only get paid if a paid subscriber reads your work… but although Medium has a beautiful business model, they’ll also become your marketing partner.

…if you’ll let them.

When you write for Medium, using only the partner program as incentive, you leave a ton of income behind. The partner program is nice, but the results are erratic at…

--

--

August Birch
The Book Mechanic

Blue-Collar Marketing Mentor for Writers and Creators | Get a copy of my free email strategy book, the Big 100 here: https://augustbirch.com/big100