How to Write Non-Fiction that Reads Like a Page-Turning Thriller

August Birch
The Book Mechanic
Published in
6 min readMar 12, 2019

--

Your non-fiction doesn’t have to be dry. Let’s spice it up.

Photo by Roman Kraft on Unsplash

There’s little worse than a dry non-fiction book. Save for maybe a colonoscopy, that research paper about non-GMO carrots you wrote in middle school, and that one time you didn’t have WiFi in church.

It’s time to give our non-fiction a tune-up.

I read a lot. And there’s little that makes me bristle more than a book that wastes my time. I don’t get more time. I can’t get a time refund if my time got ripped-off. Once my time is spent, it’s gone. I’m a little closer to being dead and your dry book just robbed me. Well, not your book. You know better. But you get the idea.

A non-fiction book can be a page-turner?

Hellz-yes it can. And it should. If we want to deliver our message to the most people, said audience will have to read the book all the way to the end. If we want them to read the entire book we need to give them incentive.

Holding the reader’s attention is the writer’s responsibility, not the reader’s. If we lost the reader in chapter one, that’s on us. Fiction writers have the attention game figured out, but we can steal their techniques to make our non-fiction better too. I’ll give you some simple strategies you can apply to your non-fiction…

--

--

August Birch
The Book Mechanic

Blue-Collar Marketing Mentor for Writers and Creators | Get a copy of my free email strategy book, the Big 100 here: https://augustbirch.com/big100