If You Want to Earn $1,000 Per Month on Medium — Work Backwards

Why starting with the end-goal will help your daily writing

August Birch
The Book Mechanic

--

Photo by Syed Hussaini on Unsplash

I’m not a top-earner on Medium, but I do well. While my recent curation “jail” ban has taken half my earnings, I continue to earn at least $1,000 a month from non-curated stories.

This is my monthly goal.

I didn’t just decide to earn that and wait until the end of the month. I take the whole number and work backwards. This means I need to pull $33 a day from all my stories to hit the number.

With the new Partner Program, we get real-time read income, month-to-date, up to the day before.

I can see where I need to step it up if I’m behind.

I can see, real-time, what stories work and which aren’t.

I write more of the stories my readers want to read and fewer of the stories they don’t.

The process sounds stupid when I write it, but as writers, why are most of us here? To earn money from our craft. In order to earn money from our Medium stories we need readers to read them.

When we write stories readers want to read, we get paid more.

So… I work backwards.

--

--

August Birch
The Book Mechanic

Blue-Collar Marketing Mentor for Writers and Creators | Get a copy of my free email strategy book, the Big 100 here: https://augustbirch.com/big100