My Medium Publishing Strategy for the Near Future

August Birch
The Book Mechanic
Published in
7 min readOct 28, 2019

--

As we enter the updated Partner Program, here’s my latest plan:

Photo by NeONBRAND on Unsplash

Today, 10/28/19 is the first day of the updated Medium Partner Program. Last week they turned things on their head a little. Starting now, writers will no longer be paid for claps.

We’ll only be paid for read time (a percentage of each reader’s read time per month).

This is on a reader-by-reader basis. A voracious reader will spread her reading ‘share’ over many stories and therefor will water-down her payment. A one-and-done reader will be worth more if all their reading time goes to a couple stories.

While we can speculate six ways ‘till Disney Land, I’ve decided to take a laser-focused approach with my writing.

It doesn’t change much from my previous approach, but I plan to target my tribe even harder. I believe targeted writing will help keep your readers coming back.

  • We want to feed our readers’ likes and interests as much as we can.
  • We want our work in front of our reader every time she opens Medium.
  • We want to publish high-quality writing that keeps old readers coming back and new readers interested.

When you focus on one group of people, they can’t help but find your stories everywhere

--

--

August Birch
The Book Mechanic

Blue-Collar Marketing Mentor for Writers and Creators | Get a copy of my free email strategy book, the Big 100 here: https://augustbirch.com/big100