A Writing Distraction-Fix that Works All the Time, 25% of the Time

August Birch
The Book Mechanic
Published in
5 min readJan 13, 2019

--

It slices. It dices. A centering solution to increase your writing productivity

A Writing Distraction-Fix that Works All the Time, 25% of the Time

If you’re anything like me, it takes about five seconds to derail my writing session if I’m not careful. Show me something shiny and I’m off like a squirrel with half an ice cream cone. I joke around in the title of this piece, but distraction can smash your writing output.

When I’m in the zone I have laser-focus, but if I’m a little stuck in a certain section it’s easy to get distracted. My mind wanders and its 30 minutes later.

Distracted writing ruins productivity.

If we can write 1,000 words in thirty minutes while in flow-state, we’re lucky to squeeze 100 words from the same session while distracted. Sure, it’s easy to talk about. But distractions are everywhere we go. But even an empty room can distract an introvert.

Distracted writing is also a blow to our egos. When we lose productivity we feel less-than. We compare ourselves to prolific writers and the self-talk starts coming in. Now, not only do we have trouble with distraction, but we also question ourselves as writers.

What can we do to flip-off distractions like a light switch?

--

--

August Birch
The Book Mechanic

Blue-Collar Marketing Mentor for Writers and Creators | Get a copy of my free email strategy book, the Big 100 here: https://augustbirch.com/big100