The ONE Sign You Chose The Wrong Niche for Your Content

…and how to find the right one.

August Birch
The Book Mechanic

--

Photo by Jamie Street on Unsplash

It’s no surprise that serving a specific audience is the way to get noticed in a sea of content. If you want to build a creative practice where you help others achieve some kind of transformation, you’re gonna need to choose a niche.

We can’t serve everyone.

There’s no such thing as universal content that appeals to all people. If you try to create universal content you’ll appeal to no one.

So, you take this advice and choose your niche. You start creating content and nothing happens. No traffic. No reads. No leads.

What happened?

There’s one key metric you need to pay attention to when you choose your niche. And if you’re not getting the attention you hoped, this one key metric is likely the culprit.

The key sign is competition.

I know it sounds counter-intuitive, but you must have competition in your space. Otherwise, you’ve chosen a niche that isn’t painful enough, or there aren’t enough people in the niche to make it worth your time.

I’ve made this mistake myself. Once I chose a niche with no competition. I thought I was a freaking genius. Here I was, with a monopoly on my niche. But the…

--

--

August Birch
The Book Mechanic

Blue-Collar Marketing Mentor for Writers and Creators | Get a copy of my free email strategy book, the Big 100 here: https://augustbirch.com/big100