This One Vintage Marketing Tool Will Grow Your Creative Business

Think of it like an insurance policy against invisibility…

August Birch
The Book Mechanic

--

Photo by Travis Yewell on Unsplash

I shouted and cried, but no one heard me…

My family made our annual trip to this massive home remodeling trade show. It was a place my parents went to find new ideas for the garden (and a place to dream about that new kitchen they’d never upgrade).

One year I zigged as the rest of my family zagged.

And I found my little self lost, amongst tens of thousands of strangers. I was separated from my parents maybe ten minutes, but my seven-year-old self assumed it was the end.

I’d have to live in the convention center forever, eating scraps. Eventually I’d have to build some kind of shelter from folding tables and posters.

But I felt my dad’s huge hand clap-down on my shoulder and everything was OK.

I wish I could say the same for your creative practice.

Your customers have an unlimited number of choices for their time and attention. The social algorithms are actively working against you, making it harder for your followers to see your content unless you pay for ads.

--

--

August Birch
The Book Mechanic

Blue-Collar Marketing Mentor for Writers and Creators | Get a copy of my free email strategy book, the Big 100 here: https://augustbirch.com/big100