What Happened When I Stopped Writing on Medium for Nine Days

…and how you can benefit from my $250 loss

August Birch
The Book Mechanic

--

Photo by Dmitry Demidko on Unsplash

Last week (nine days, actually)I took my first sabbatical from Medium since I started writing here over a year ago. We also just had a new payment plan established, so I was curious what would happen under the new algorithm and read-time plan. The results had both positive and negative consequences. I’ll share them both with you here.

We all know if we want to do well on Medium we’ve got to write consistently.

If we want to make significant income here, we’ve got to publish daily — sometimes multiple times per day.

Well, I published nothing for nine days. I wanted to see what would happen to my stats… and my income, if something happened and I couldn’t write. The end-results both surprised and pleased me.

I thought my presence would drop from the Medium sky, like grabbing a hot pan with no oven mitt.

While I did lose about $250 in income, which I would’ve earned had I continued to write (I do about $500 a week now), my income didn’t fall to zero.

--

--

August Birch
The Book Mechanic

Blue-Collar Marketing Mentor for Writers and Creators | Get a copy of my free email strategy book, the Big 100 here: https://augustbirch.com/big100