A Heavy Wet Snow Inspires Poetry

Waking up to a foot of snow yesterday was inspirational.

Carol Labuzzetta, MS
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Poems
2 min readDec 16, 2022

--

How a Birch Wears Snow

I’m tall and slender

With white bark that

Peels.

My leaves have fallen,

Leaving me barren and

Cold.

In the winter, I am swayed

Easily by the wind and

Snow.

When the snow comes fast

And is wet and heavy, I

Bend.

Dipping my highest branches

Low to the ground, laden by

Weight.

It appears as if I’m bowing.

But I’m not. My stiff limbs

Hurt.

The snow piles up on me

Making my limbs and twigs

Fragile.

I hope I don’t succumb

To the extra wet weight and

Break.

Spring will come if I survive

The winter storms and

Cold.

--

--

Carol Labuzzetta, MS
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Poems

I write about the environment, education, nature, and travel. Having two master's degrees, in nursing and environmental education, I am a teacher at heart.