Poetry | Limerick | Humour

A Ring in the Park in the Dark

--

A dark picture of a male, only half of the face illumined.
Photo by michael schaffler on Unsplash

Frequently, I read the work of poets on Medium. One wrote a stirring poem in answer to a challenge, to use three words stated in the challenge’s terms: embrace, angel, and ladder.

Responding to the poem, I said that I was limited to writing limericks, but was told in a following reply that a limerick was a poem, too.

After a few weeks, I began to write a limerick before writing an essay, to stimulate my mind.

Writing a limerick before starting a story can be helpful because they’re short and sometimes humorous, with an easy rhyme and rhythm pattern. They help stimulate creativity and get my brain into a more relaxed and creative state. If I were at a dance, they would help get my rear into gear.

I enjoy the idea that my limericks involve wordplay and clever use of language that encourage thinking outside the box, while I wander as a leprechaun of lexicon, in attempting to elevate the style.

A Ring in the Park in the Dark

I put on my tights in the dark
To go for a run in the park.
While jogging I groaned
Locating my phone
While ringing rubbed leaving a mark.

It’s all about creativity and having fun with language. But it is difficult to improve on “There was an old man from Nantucket.”

Selfie

Sam is a retired drug counselor & keeps his Texas license current. An MA from UTA he writes about addiction to substances, behaviors, and thistles of the soul.

--

--

Sam David Parker🌸
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Poems

I write about addiction to substances, behaviors, and thistles of the soul. Human rights are God given rights.