Poetry

A Warning for the Artist

AVG
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Poems
3 min readJun 5, 2023

--

Black background. In the middle is white text: “A Warning for the Artist”.
Image by author via Canva.

Creation is the manifestation of your wildest dreams and darkest nightmares.

AVG
Native-Mexican American author

Editor’s Note

AVG has really pushed the boat out in terms of bravery and originality here, which is why I feel the need to add this text. I like it because it says a lot with very few words, and for me, it presents a blurred line between visual art and poetry. It also provokes the question of what is poetry; at least, it does for me.

Does poetry have to follow any rules? Does there need to be a minimum number of lines, syllables, or any structure at all? Or is it enough that one word with or without a picture provokes thought? Some may find that idea provocative.

As the editor of the publication, I am looking forward to seeing other people’s reactions to the piece and also some answers to my questions. Perhaps AVG will add more words, but that is up to them!

Martin Morrison — British writer, founder and editor of Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Poems

Author’s Note
Thank you, Martin, for your comments on my piece and the opportunity to share it through your publication.

Poetry has always been therapeutic for me. Typically my writing glides between dark poetry and horror. Within the past few months, I’ve been pushing myself to write outside of my comfort zone. I’ve tended to live and thrive in the darker areas of life [hey, I’m a quadruple Scorpio!] so writing about love, hope, and healing has been difficult, to say the least. These are things I’ve honestly never been allowed or even allowed myself to have. The truth is, I find comfort in misery. It’s all I’ve known. Until recently.

I’ve been in therapy for two years now and on the right cocktail of medication for about two to three years. My life has changed and for the better. I wouldn’t say I’m hopeful. Instead, I see my potential. Now I know I have it in me to heal and experience the light. With this change came the understanding that I am responsible [for the most part] for how I view and react to the world around me.

As I basked in this realization, this poem came to me. I am a creator. What I put out into the world matters to me. Not just in a sentimental sense but also in terms of existence. I don’t just create. I manifest reality. What I put out is a reflection of where I am and more importantly where I’m headed. Creation is my truth. It turns my insides out. Ready to view and able to touch. I don’t fear this when it comes to my work as it was. After all, vulnerability is a fierce companion to art in any form. Rather, my fear lies in the light. It has been an unknown. But that’s a lie. I’ve always dreamed of what life would be like had I never experienced trauma. And while that can’t exactly happen, a version of that reality lives within me. That person I wish I was is ready to be actualized. And the way I can make this person, these thoughts, these hoped experiences real is through my writing. I’m the one that shines the light.

For more:

72 stories
Black background. White text in the middle of the page: “Destiny is a Funny Thing”.
White background. At the top is half of a black circle with the flat part facing the bottom. Between the black and white space are the words: “Self-Forgiveness”.
Within a two-toned hallway of white and brown, are four white doors. Two are across from each other. Two are directly next to each other.
88 stories
The image is from the perspective of someone looking out the window on a rainy day. At the bottom of the page is grey text: “Desert Depression”.
The background is an image of an overfilled bookshelf. There is white text at the bottom of the image: “Life After Trauma: Volume Three”.
Black background. Grey text is at the bottom of the screen: “My Psychiatrist Victim Blamed Me”. There are three grey arrows pointing towards the text.
6 stories
White background. Black text: “Excerpts From My Horror Poetry”.
Foggy woodland background. Grey text in the middle of the page: “A Forest Friend”.
Black background. White text in the middle of the page: “Skin”.

--

--

AVG
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Poems

I write as a means to heal. I hope my words can serve as a reminder, that we are not alone. That we all deserve to be heard and seen. [they/them]