Poetry and Photographic Art

All That Remains Are Shadows

Laid bare with time

--

I manipulated a Buies Creek, North Carolina abandoned house rurexing shoot to accompany the poem. Below, I’ve detailed how I achieved the look in the photo. I hope you’ll find the information edifying. Personally, I don’t know what I’d do without Adobe Photoshop! I love that software!

“Shadows Remain” — Taken near Buies Creek NC, 01 March 2020, with an E-600 Olympus Zuiko Digital ED 14–42mm F3.5–5.6, 4032 x 3032, ISO 800, 42 mm, ƒ5.6, 1/80 s, by D. Denise Dianaty

All That Remains Are Shadows

In These Bright Sunlit Spaces
Shadows dance on the eternal stage
Dreams flow of a green grass age
where joyful hope once dancèd

Hope passed on and left this home
abandoned to haunted memories
Can almost see the children at play
possibilities unfettered

In this place laid bare with time
where sunlight’s blaze glares with clarity
No child plays, no hope is found
All that now remains are shadows.

© 17 July 2018 by D. Denise Dianaty, American poet, artist and photographer. Previously published on WritersCafe.org

--

--

Author, D. Denise Dianaty
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Poems

"Life's joys are found in the small moments. Never let those moments pass uncelebrated. Embrace the joy!"~MomzillaNC