POEM

Bananas

A day in the life of a smart phone

--

A display of tropical fruits
Photo by Ian Turnell: https://www.pexels.com/photo/assorted-fruits-stall-709567/

hanging like a two-toed sloth
slobbering
dangling from a smart phone
juicy as mango

scrolling

scrolling

scrolling

like endless peeling clicking
the pictures of ripening fruit
papayas, pawpaw, pineapples
procrastinate on a pomegranate

drooling

drooling

drooling

licking the screen
tongue zooming in
on the fruit
tastelessly salivating

posing

posing

posting

post some selfies
get some likes
goggling eyes search
reflected a million million times

shrinking

shrinking

gobbling

gobbling

feel good

dopamine-hit

hit me

hit me

hit me

i’m swallowing the sloth
that’s feasting on my bile
burping on dulces
i’m spiked in a man-trap

clutching

clutching

clutching

losing my grip
manically exhausted
bananas
two arms’ length away

Pablo St Paul on SoundCloud. Image Greg5030, CC BY-SA 3.0, via Wikimedia Commons

Inspired by a day of wasting time and at the end of it all feeling terrible and exhausted.

© Pablo St. Paul
English writer in Indonesia

--

--

Pablo St Paul
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Poems

A poet of struggle with myself, how I relate to the world and how the world relates to me - flavoured with the spice of anxiety, autism, physics and computers.