POETRY

Be Patient

The journey of a naturist Buddhist — 20

--

Photo by author

be patient
while the earth warms
there will be time
soon
for walking barefoot
through young grass
and flowers of the prairie

be patient
while the house warms
there will be time
soon
for casting aside
the quilts and slippers
protecting bared skin

be patient
while the heart warms
there will be time
soon
for gathering with others
and sharing smiles
and finding belonging

I wrote this poem not long after a return to psychoanalysis following yet another mental-health crisis in 2012. This return happened 14 years after my first round of analysis. Thankfully, it was my last such crisis. The photo above accompanied the original publication of the poem in 2013.

This is the twentieth in a series of poetry called “The journey of a naturist Buddhist.” I want to thank those of you who have been supporting my poetry with your interactions. Thank you:

Robert, Alan Schilling, Jim Parton, Nanna Says, Dennis • M.Sc., JoEllen Claypool, Roky Jegar Erickson, Bill Harris, Chalifour, Dan, and Martin Morrison

I want to thank the editors of Bouncin and Behavin Poems for publishing this poem. I encourage you to visit the publication and read the many excellent poems to be found there.

I would truly be grateful for any support you can give as a tip. through my Ko-fi account. Thank you in advance. ☺

I love coffee

--

--

René Beauchemin - [he/him]
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Poems

I am not who I appear to be. As a naturist, I can be seen clothing-free. As humans we need to be honest with who we are beneath persona and camouflage.