Car Rides

Logophobic
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Poems
1 min readOct 14, 2023
Photo by Matt Howard on Unsplash

I love the way your lips pull back and show your teeth
when you smile.

I love your laugh; how simple and unaffected it is, from your belly.

I love your bravery. You are never someone who isn’t you, regardless of whom you’re with.

I love your youthful introspection; always willing to think about your thoughts from a different perspective.

I love the way sunlight from the right angle makes your eyes look like pools of honey.

I love your affection; a simple hand on a shoulder, a poke in the ribs, a great big running hug.

I love sitting in the car with you and feeling like a kid again.

I love it when you are angry, even with me.

I love your willingness to share yourself; it makes it easier for me to not be as shy around you.

I hate how writing this comes so easily, but try to say it and my mouth doesn’t work.

Have you ever wished you could un-think something, but are horrified at the thought of losing the memory of what you thought?

American writer

--

--

Logophobic
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Poems

PE teacher, rowing coach, and fearer of words and their consequences