Conversations in Listening

Do you ever stop talking?

Merr Gumm
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Poems

--

Photo by Thiébaud Faix on Unsplash

I don’t have anything to say,
Because you don’t hear me, anyway.
You’re too busy talking to listen.
My head’s splittin’.

Complaining, Explaining,
Ingratiating. He said, she said,
Spewing the thoughts in your head.
Vulgarity, Hilarity,
Are you comparing me,
I need clarity.

Repeating, it's a beating,
Your story’s so old, it’s been told.
Can you come up with something new?
I’d settle for hearing anything true.
Because you sure know a lot about bull crap.
God, you suck the energy out of me like, snap.

Your antidote is always better,
Because you’re a topper.
Of course, you’ve been there,
Done that.
My eulogy will make note of it,
’Cause I’m dying over here,
Or is it hear? Nor there.
You’re vomiting words everywhere,
And it's killing me.

--

--

Merr Gumm
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Poems

I enjoy writing about beach and farm life, religion, human rights, and the unusual. Primarily fiction and poetry.