Cradling Sight

Logophobic
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Poems
2 min readNov 9, 2023
Photo by Magnus Östberg on Unsplash

She is unassuming,
my window.

Frame of knotted red oak,
age lines creasing her from right
to left
and top
to bottom.

I like to run my fingers
along her sill,
idly tracing her smooth
hardness.

She cradles my thoughts,
provides a porthole view
into the ocean swimming
with my future, present, and past.

These days I am too big to sit
in her comforting frame
as I did in my youth.

Her lovely bones groan
as I close her,
full of the wonders
she chose to provide.

American writer

I often dream of the window at the head of my bed in my childhood home. Its flaky white paint was a joy to scratch and pull off, much to the frustration of my mother, and I smile as I remember the countless warm summer nights with her open and a soft breeze playing over my face as the sound of trains echoed through our small neighborhood. She has become a tactile memory that I use during meditation. I relish the feeling of my back against her frame and her sill supporting me as I stared out on a rainy day, watching droplets land and inevitably run down her panes.

No pressure to highlight, comment, or clap, just enjoy the words and pass the positivity on.

In gratitude :)

Beauty, abomination, and everything in between

463 stories
Photo of the handwritten poem in the author’s notebook

--

--

Logophobic
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Poems

PE teacher, rowing coach, and fearer of words and their consequences