Deserving

Melissa Steussy
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Poems
4 min readMay 11, 2024

--

Photo by Francesca Zama on Unsplash

I knew my stairs weren’t clean enough for you to walk on
I knew my entry wasn’t
Large enough

For you
And my paint colors were off
I knew my fridge wasn’t tidy enough

Who knows what’s behind my oven,
You knew I would fail before I did
And that’s why you’re constantly belittling me

Knocking me down when I
Get ahead
Shoving my head back in the sand when it rises above
Wiping that smile off of my face

Feeding
My pain back to me as you
Like to smear it all over my face

You knew I would fail
And it brings you great satisfaction to see
Me suffer

To watch me wonder
And worry
You were waiting and watching
Until I made this great mistake

And now you glover
It is rubbed in my face
I am down
You’ve got me this time

--

--

Melissa Steussy
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Poems

26 years sober, health nut, supplement junkie, and all-around fantastic gal. Wrote a book called, Let Your Privates Breathe-Breaking the Cycle of Addiction....