Free Verse Poetry

Faith Over Fear

Keep choosing the light

Taryn Ariel
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Poems

--

The sun rises boldly and brightly over the vast, dark ocean.
Photo by Todd Trapani on Unsplash

Here is holy
presence hold me
shape me, mold me
reveal the bold me

fear feels evil
anxiety is the sequel
always hungry, never full
tries to take me for a fool

fear’s no friend
but we must be civil
messy meddling with my mental
its growth in this world is exponential
but it ain’t got shit on God’s potential

I choose faith.

©Taryn Ariel 2023

African American writer

Context on the poem: Fear abounds in this wonderfully wild and wacky world. Lately, I’ve been leaning more into faith despite my fears. This life is short, and I don’t want fear to hold me back.

I believe that God wants us all to live as abundantly and peacefully as we can, trusting in the unique and divine power that lives inside of each and every one of us.

This poem is a declaration of the conscious choice to continue to believe in faith over fear.

I appreciate you reading this poem. Feel free to buy me some tea at the link below and help support a writer on the rise. ❤

https://ko-fi.com/tarynariel

--

--

Taryn Ariel
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Poems

I'm in functional recovery from bpd. Soulfully silly. Wonderfully weird. I write, I sing, I keed, I keed. I jokey with you. <3 https://x.com/TarynArielala