How Would I know?

The poetry of an alcoholic

Harry Hogg
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Poems

--

pexels.com

I know that it’s time
When the street lights glow
Stop what you’re doin’
Tell me what you know

Have a drink my friend
Tell me what’s true
You believe in love
Sure, and sky is always blue

See I’m defenseless
Won’t you throw me a line
Buy me a whisky
Coz I have too much time

She left me this morning
My angel face
I know what you’re thinking
Who will take her place

Go out and die
That’s what she said
It was five am
We were still in our bed

How do I feel?
It’s not a good time
Whisky’s a great help
It’s a good friend of mine

She had all the power
I felt all the shame
Rules for the alcoholic
Always take the blame

--

--

Harry Hogg
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Poems

Ex Greenpeace, writing since a teenager. Will be writing ‘Lori Tales’ exclusively for JK Talla Publishing in the Spring of 2025