Hummus Toast

Make Way for the Hummus King!

Aaron Michael Thomas
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Poems
3 min readOct 6, 2023

--

Photo by Kyle Brinker on Unsplash

Waking up in my comfortable bed
I get up and rush, nearly hitting my head
To the coffee that can wake
All my dying dreams for goodness sake

I smell the aromas of jet fuel
And take a mug off the shelf like it’s a duel
Ready with my sword like a samurai
My spoon stirs as it tastes like days gone by

I embrace that warm cup of Joe
Between my tongue and swallow it whole
The hot black and bitter taste
Feels inviting, and good; a refined dark paste

Suddenly, pleasure awaits me with mourning
It waits in store for me this wretched morning
It’s not just this warm drink I want
But a food that I desire too much to flaunt

A piece of heavenly bread from the River perfectly woven
Toasted to perfection in my toaster oven
My blade I unsheathe in the light
To spread some nirvana sauce and bite

Into the sustenance that none could have because of their sins
Kings and princes have sought…

--

--