I am sorry

I should have stayed by your side

Adedolapo Sobaloju
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Poems
1 min readJul 23, 2024

--

Photo by Muhmed Alaa El-Bank on Unsplash

I should have stayed
by your side,
but the sky was so dark
I couldn’t see.
You can blame me
for the pain
and the ache.
I’m sorry I made
you feel worse.
The gloomy sky
reminded me of you.
It haunted me,
I tried to hide.
I remember the
circles of pain
beneath your eyes.
I knew it was the sleepless nights
you passed through.

Context

Life is full of regrets. I wrote a story of a man whose wife had cancer saw the signs but chose to ignore them, neglecting her. Despite her illness, the wife kept pushing on with all the strength she had until her body could take it no more, and she fainted.

The doctor broke the news to the husband, leaving him weak and speechless. Sorrow engulfed him as he stared at his frail and fragile wife. He kept asking for forgiveness, but he knew it was too late.

I’m a Nigerian poet, living in London, United Kingdom

Dolly ❤️

--

--