I Thought He Loved Me

Marry your friend

Adedolapo Sobaloju
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Poems
2 min readJul 30, 2024

--

Photo by Rémi Walle on Unsplash

“They said to marry your friend,
The thought alone freaked me out.
I wanted not Merlin, but Arthur.
Lo! Arthur fixed his gaze on me,
It felt like I was the only girl in the world.
He was blind to other girls.

‘What did you do to be so pretty?’ he asked.
‘I had a nature bath,’ I told him.
The breeze kissed my skin,
My fragrance filled with roses.
My tummy tingled at his touch.
It felt like love, or so I thought,

But his heart yearned for more,
While mine beat for him only.
Then he shut the door,
Crawled back to my comfort.
My pain eased as he wrapped me in his arms.

A scale fell from my eyes,
I saw him in a new light,
Drowned in his emerald, green eyes,
beautiful man.
My heartbeat to a different rhythm.
His love was the only magical desire
I yearned for, and it was within my reach.

Dolly ❤️

Marrying your friend is the best thing. You were aware of his or her flaws before you fell in love. You know everything about them, so their behaviors aren’t new to you. And also choose the one that reciprocates your love.

I’m a Nigerian poet, living in London, UK.

--

--