I Wake for You

Logophobic
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Poems
2 min readNov 1, 2023
Photo by Noah Silliman on Unsplash

A whispered promise
what seems like so many years ago
An oath, a vow to never forget
who came first
and will inevitably to last
Unsure, but excited by a prospect,
by an opportunity so many praise

“It changed my life.”
What if I am happy like this?

“I grew to be a better person.”
What if I am already good?

“I realized there was more to life.”
What if I don’t need more?

I didn’t ask God for you,
but sometimes I wonder if things will ever be the same
again,
after you’re gone.
Will the wounds between her and me heal?
Will she smile at me again?
Will her hand idly reach for mine when we sit
and watch the grass grow?

You were not my choice.
You have driven a wedge between
moon and stars.
And then
you glued those two halves haphazardly
together.

I wake for you every morning.

How has having children affected your relationship with your spouse/partner? Did you notice how it affected your parents? I would be interested to hear other anecdotes and perspectives.

I promised she would always come first and she swore she meant the same, not knowing how strong biology’s hold over her would be. I do not fault her for it, but I regret it just the same. We are better for it, but oftentimes I wonder what this betterment will cost us.

American writer

--

--

Logophobic
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Poems

PE teacher, rowing coach, and fearer of words and their consequences