I Wish I knew

Hope dies last

Logophobic
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Poems
1 min readOct 16, 2023

--

Photo by Marianna Smiley on Unsplash

What broke you
little one?
What silenced your song?
Who pulled off your wings?
What did you see
to harden your gaze so?
To whom did you listen
and never recover?

What hardship sealed your heart shut
forever?

I wish I knew.
I wish I could still
your trembling limbs.
I wish I could hear
the pained silence
of your chagrin.
I wish you could see
the tears blotching
the paper
on which I write.

For you are not broken,
rather beautiful in your shame.
You are not maimed,
rather powerful in your suffering.
You are not withdrawn,
rather introspective
in your dreaming.

I wish you knew
that I know.

-American writer

We see them, we meet them every day; people for whom we wish better. They are chronically depressed, they are downtrodden, and they are under the yoke of something they cannot control. Yet their spark grins widely beyond the dark of their prevailing situation. For those people we write and for them we think positively. They deserve nothing else.

--

--

Logophobic
Bouncin’ and Behavin’ Poems

PE teacher, rowing coach, and fearer of words and their consequences